Missouri London Program, Spring 2007,
at Imperial College London through ie2uk.com

October 13, 2006: informational meeting at Lake of the Ozarks

Tue, Jan 2, 2007: arrival

Wed Jan 3, 2007: views from the flat at 22 Hornton St

Thu Jan 4, 2007: University College London and British Museum

Sat Jan 6: Fun Fair

Mon Jan 8: office

Thur Jan 11: bus tour to see famous places

Fri Jan 12: first faculty meeting, tour of campus

Tue Jan 16 and Wed Jan 17: Wendy Stokes's lecture and Museum of London

Sat Jan 20: Rex Smith's 82nd birthday in Exeter

Wed Jan 24: expedition to Warwick Castle, Stratford-upon-Avon, Royal Shakespeare Company's Richard III

Sat/Sun Jan 27-28: Cat and I scout out Blake sites

Wed Jan 31: morning: expedition to Tate Britain, mostly closed by strike
                   afternoon: my Shakespeare students to the Globe

Thu Feb 1: Blake walk led by Niall McDevitt

Wed Feb 7: Dover & Canterbury

Mon Feb 12: Cancellation of Propeller's all-male performance of Taming of the Shrew at the Old Vic

Wed Feb 14: expedition to British Museum
                    Propeller's all-male performance of Twelfth NIght at the Old Vic

Thu Feb 15: Royal Shakespeare Company's Anthony & Cleopatra starring Patrick Stewart at the Novello (formerly Strand) Theatre

Sat Feb 17: Propeller's all-male performance of Taming of the Shrew at the Old Vic

Wed Feb 21: Stonehenge and Bath

Tue Feb 27: Sheila arrives

Wed Feb 28: dinner at Ye Olde Cheshire Cheese, best food I've eaten in London

Thu Mar 1: Sheila's treat of London Walk with June, "Hidden London"
                 St Bride's Church

Fri Mar 2: Tate Modern, Susan Hiller!

Sun Mar 4- Sat Mar 10: Spring break in Nice with Cilla, Bob, Frost

Mon Mar 5: Bought Milan Kundera's Le Rideau in Nice

Thu Mar 8: Visited shopping mall Nicetoile with Frost

Thu Mar 15: View Kenneth Branagh's film Much Ado About Nothing in class
                   Dinner at Houses of Parliament

Sat Mar 17: View live performance of Stoppard's Arcadia at ICU Theatre

Wed Mar 21: Visit Houses of Parliament, hear MP Graham Brady, including "constituency advice surgeries"
                     National Gallery, lunch with all 7 faculty at ??

Thu Mar 22: View Burton/Taylor Taming of the Shrew in class

Thu Mar 22: Royal Shakespeare Company's Tempest starring Patrick Stewart at the Novello (formerly Strand) Theatre

Mon Mar 26: haircuts for Cat and me at Mr Toppers on Charing Cross Rd, less than 10 pounds each, lunch at Mr Hummus

Wed Mar 28: Inns of Court

Thu Mar 29: Keats's House, poem "He Knew of Death" inspired by that visit

Tue Apr 3:  begin viewing Olivier's Hamlet in class

Wed Apr 4: finish viewing Olivier's Hamlet in class
                  good-bye lunch for Alex
                  Dinner at Dans le Noir, a completely dark restaurant

Thu Apr 5: Tour of Victoria & Albert Museum by Deborah

Fri Apr 6: Completion of walking across 14 central London bridges over Thames
               east to west: Tower, London, Southwark, Milennium, Blackfriars, Waterloo,
               two Jubilee footbridges beside Hungerford rail bridge,
               Westminster, Lambeth, Vauxhall, Chelsea, Albert, Battersea.

Sat Apr 7: Blake's Grave

Sun Apr 8: Kensington Walk

Wed Apr 18: Taming of the Shrew at Wilton's Music Hall: fantastic performance

Sat Apr 21: Philip Glass's Satyagraha by English National Opera at London Coliseum
                  transcendent experience